You left us NUMB. RIP Chester Bennington

When it comes to music, most of us resonate with the lyrics so much so we end up thinking that it’s about us. This is what Linkin Park means to me. Every Indian born in the early nineties, must relate with me when I say, “NUMB” or “In the end” were some of the first English songs we came across. Right? 

So, today at work when I came across this news, all that revolved my mind was, ” ‘Cause I’m only a crack in this castle of glass, hardly anything there for you to see.” 

It is weird how the music heals us all, but not the people who make it. 

And, then…..nostalgia hit me. I remembered my school time, when we used to doodle the logo of Linkin Park in the last pages of our notebooks (competing who’s got the best one), danced to NUMB at our parties, and excitedly discuss any new album that comes up.

Chester Bennington is not just a singer (I am still not going to believe it should be “was” here), he’s someone who lived with all his worst fears and made songs out of them. Needless to say, “He killed it every time.” While his songs taught us how to face our demons, I am not sure if they could teach him how to face his. It’s a shame!

Linkin Park didn’t take a long time to become a part of our lives, thanks to Chester’s amazing vocals. Hybrid Theory and Meteora have to be two of their most iconic albums, making them an International phenomena. Since time immemorial I have been wishing to watch them live at a concert. *If only!*

Chris Cornell did the same thing 2 months ago, and now his friend Chester did too. Just 41. It makes you wonder the amount of grief and pain he must be going through, if it forced him to take his own life as well. So, if you ever thought for once in your life that the world is better off without you, think again. I urge you to come forward. I beg you to talk. Don’t once care of what others will think. It is when you pour yourself out there that help will knock your door. Depression isn’t a phenomena, it is a fucking disease. And, if it can take people like Chester Bennington, Chris Cornell and Robin Williams from us, it must be something cruel.

As he says,

“When my time comes
Forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed
And don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory
Leave out all the rest
Leave out all the rest” 

RIP Chester Bennington. I know the genre of “Rock” from Linkin Park, and I know songs from you. Linkin Park will never be the same without you.
You are loved. You are missed. And, we are numb!

7 thoughts on “You left us NUMB. RIP Chester Bennington

Leave a Reply

