Life vs Riches: A dilemma!

“When I was young I thought that money was the most important thing in life; now that I am old I know that it is.” – Oscar Wilde

At 23.5 years, I might be the lowest earning one among my friends, and also the one of a handful of people pursuing their passion. So, do I regret it? No. But, do I wish my job paid me more? Yes. It might be mostly because I don’t compromise on things I want, and that’s what savings are for.

If I am so content with what life has to offer, then why am I writing this? Well, curiosity.
“Does everyone feel the same or am I the only one? “
“Is money a measure of my worth?”
“Do my high-paid friends ever face any problems?”

Everyone wants to be able to buy their parents everything they can. There might also be people like me who want to rescue every animal in the world giving them a huge new place to live. Some might want a vacation to Thailand. But, in all our dreams what is missing is the word, “How?” 

So, money. The commodity we envy Kardashians for. I don’t know if it is a universal feeling, but every time I ask my dad, mom or brother for money, it kills me a little! Why? Because I am earning, I live independently and lead a lavish life! So, the only place I should be taking money from is a bank.
There was a day when I had Rs. 9 in my bank account, but did not tell a soul. It was the month I hadn’t saved at all. My hope was the Rs. 2,ooo refund that had to be processed for a failed online order. Cut to 2 days later, I fell sick and didn’t even have the money to buy myself a medicine. Why? Because I recklessly spent all the money I had and there was way too much pride to ask my family. Ohh October! But, it was a friend who became an angel at that point. She bought me medicines forcefully (If you are reading this, you know who you are. I LOVE YOU).

And, then there is life. The thing we all live, in the hope of inspiring even a single creature in our entire time on the planet. To this, I can gladly say yes, I have inspired people. From my weight loss journey to pursuing my hobby as a career, the heartfelt messages or face to face conversations with people confirm the same. This life that I live has not only made my family and friends proud of me, but has introduced me to such amazing souls. As they say, “a man’s wealth is measured by his friends.”So, keep your relations intact, because your worth is not by how much you earn but by who you are. 

I am not saying that money is everything in life, nor am I saying that your talent will always fill your pockets. It could be an overnight success or years of struggle before you can get enough money to buy yourself a house. Is choosing happiness over money a bad thing?  Happiness might mean different things to different people. For some, it could be a cheque; for others a simple praise at work. As for people like me, the relationship between money and happiness depends on my needs at the time.

In a fight between Life vs Riches, for me, LIFE will always win. And, so agrees Jeeveshu Ahluwalia: Watch this video!

If you had a good time reading this, Subscribe to my blog and don’t forget to leave your comments about why can’t money buy happiness or if it can?

2 thoughts on “Life vs Riches: A dilemma!

Leave a Reply

